UCL Young Boys 3-3 Atalanta

Goals by Zapata, Palomino and Muriel

On matchday 5 of the 2021-2022 UEFA Champions League Group F, Atalanta get an important point against Young Boys at the end of a thrilling match in Bern.

The deadlock was broken in the 10th minute when Freuler pulled back for Zapata, who turned and his shot took a little deflection to give the goalkeeper no chance. After a few attempts coming off Palomino and Pašalić, the Croatian was tackled when through on goal by Lauper but the referee did not point to the penalty spot. Siebatcheu netted the equalizer for Young Boys on 39 minutes with a glancing header from an Aebischer corner that bounced in off the bar.

Going into the second half, Ruslan Malinovskyi’s powerful free kick forced a save off Guillame Faivre and Palomino restored the Nerazzurri’s lead with a stunning half-volley from the edge of the box. Faivre pulled off an amazing fingertip save to deny Giuseppe Pezzella, whose volley was aiming at the far post. That save changed the game and Sierro equalized for the Swiss side on 81 minutes, despite Musso being alert and making a few crucial saves. Hefti gave Young Boys the lead in the 84th minute with a shot from distance and Muriel came to the rescue by getting off the bench and scoring directly from a free kick, bringing Atalanta level on 88 minutes.


Scorers: Zapata 10 (A), Siebatcheu 39 (YB), Palomino 51 (A), Sierro 81 (YB), Hefti 84 (YB), Muriel 88 (A)

BSC Young Boys: Faivre, Hefti, Burgy, Lauper, Garcia, Aebischer, Martins Pereira, Rieder (Sierro 67), Elia (Mambimbi 67), Siebatcheu (Kanga 89), Moumi Ngamaleu. Unused bench: Zbinden, Spielmann,Sulejmani, Jankewitz, Maier, Maceiras, Lustenberger, Toure. Coach: David Wagner.

Atalanta: Musso, Toloi, Demiral (Djimsiti 71), Palomino, Zappacosta (Pezzella 46), de Roon, Freuler (Pessina 78), Mæhle (Muriel 87), Malinovskyi, Pašalić (Koopmeiners 71), Zapata. Unused bench: Rossi, Sportiello, Scalvini, Miranchuk, Iličić, Piccoli. Coach: Gian Piero Gasperini.

Referee: Daniel Siebert (GER).

Assistants: Rafael Foltyn (GER) and Christian Gittelmann (GER).

Fourth official: Tobias Reichel (GER).

V.A.R.: Bastian Dankert (GER).

A.V.A.R.: Christian Dingert (GER).

Notes: Garcia (YB), Moumi Ngamaleu (YB), Hefti (YB), Demiral (A), Zapata (A) booked.